Is God Anti-Tattoo?


[Inspired by Pua’s post on FB. Random Christian dude called her out about her tattoos and Lord have mercy did he pick on the wrong Tita who was still in line to get her coffee. Should ask Starbucks if they have the video of that LOL]

I think God is against ugly ass random shitty looking tattoos. Nah nah nah I dorono what God thinks. I don’t pull the God-card out when I need to justify something. I just pull out the Judge-card – ‘don’t judge me’ – don’t know why people say that because we all ‘judge’ in one way or another; ok make assumptions. We just don’t all admit it. Mankind is opinionated like that. I’m not a bible-ish person, couldn’t quote it to save my life. BUT I can goggle. LOL

Kakaroached from da intanet somewheres:

So, what does the Bible say about tattoos?

Leviticus 19:23-28 23 “When you enter the land and plant fruit trees, leave the fruit unharvested for the first three years and consider it forbidden.[f] Do not eat it. 24 In the fourth year the entire crop must be consecrated to the Lord as a celebration of praise. 25 Finally, in the fifth year you may eat the fruit. If you follow this pattern, your harvest will increase. I am the Lord your God. 26 “Do not eat meat that has not been drained of its blood. “Do not practice fortune-telling or witchcraft. 27 “Do not trim off the hair on your temples or trim your beards. 28 “Do not cut your bodies for the dead, and do not mark your skin with tattoos. I am the Lord.

“The “tattoo” marks described in Leviticus 19:28 were clearly related to false religious practices. The word translated tattoo in our English Bibles is the Hebrew word “qa aqa”, this word appears only one time in the Bible, here in this passage Leviticus. The word “qa aqa” means literally “to cut” but taken with the surrounding words indicates a cutting that left a mark imprinted in the skin. This could have been a form of branding, scarring, cutting or a process where ink was inlaid into the skin; there is not enough data to fully define exactly what this word meant. However we translate the word “qa aqa” though, in this passage, it is certainly used in the context of cultic religious worship. The prohibition against “qa aqa”, (translated tattoo) was to keep the Israelites from being involved or affiliated with cultic worship practices. Plus, I get the sense that it is referring putting the tattoo on yourself… so just make sure you have someone do it for you. (ha, just a little joke there!)”

Isn’t Leviticus in the Old Testament and not in da new? Correct me if I’m wrong. Some people follow the Old Testament literally. Some people follow the New Testament and the two is different. So not everybody the same. Anyways not all the Bible stuff is right either I’m thinking cause it was written by man anden translated by more men and you know how stuff get lost in the translation. Uh huh – just saying….

I think the ethnic cultural tattoo-ing is Godgiven. When you look at the art, complexity, and stories of Polynesian, Aotearoa, Phillipines, Japan or where ever they’ve had it in time and memorial, it is very significant becuase it is part of what defines their ethnicity. At the same time it is sad that these art forms become saturated with dominate societies definitions and taken out of its original context.

My body is a blank canvas. I’ve always wanted a tattoo but never knew where I would put it. I’m old school and don’t think it should be in anyones face business wise, but these days its different ain’t it? I didn’t want it where it showed publicly unless was at the beach. So no, not on my ass either. :) Well I guess I could wear a thong but I would be busy digging my ass most of the time so why wear dental floss? My thought is if I’m going to have something between my buttcheeks, it betta feel good. LOL fo’realz, but I digress….

So after 3 decades or so, what am I going to get tattooed? I want something that is mines alone, if its going to be art on my body it should not be something generic. But I’m indecisive and whishy washy. Tattoos are not for indecisive people. (Light bulb moment, what?) In the mean time I’ve listened to Keone Nunes speak in person at a couple of presentations he’s done. He’s a friend of a friend and she has one done from him blah blah blah. And he speaks about “the artist making the choice of what to tattoo” and about researching, geneoloyg and why etc etc and I’ve come to the conclusion maybe I’m not meant to have a tattoo. (another light bulb turns on, lol) If Keone said he would do a tattoo on me, I think I would let him do it because of who he is; then the question would be “do I trust him to do what he sees appropriate for me?” The answer is yes and no; and there in lies my indecisiveness. Keone would say “you know wot no need, not today” – on that I would agree.

But I also think if I’m ever in Papaete, Tahiti I may go look see try try maybe? LOL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JweVrWBu7K8[

Ma ke aloha ~ until I write again ~ bumbye.

