Shade In The Desert


It gets really hot here in the summer in the  Valley of the Sun – PHX. 100 degrees is normal. Everybody here knows and feels the heat.  Its the same heat as last year & years past. But still people bitch & moan.  If it was cold people be bitching and moaning about that. Don’t know if people are at a loss of what to say & have a conversation or they are stating the obvious. A little bit of both, huh?

Shade is hard to come by in the desert. The reason Desert Peoples have survived is because they didn’t bitch and moan about the heat, they did something about it. They built some shade. Then they had some place to kick back and bitch & moan about the heat. Nah nah nah 😀

Image

You wouldn’t thing that a little shade would make any difference. But in the heat it makes a lot of difference. Makes it more comfortable that’s for sure.  I love the shadow patterns that these structures make. Very organic. Man made. Looks very simple, but its a lot of hard work just gathering the materials. Survival.

Image

The roof beams.

Image

Thorns – natural security.

Image

Simple structures for survival.

Image

Desert version of “a little grass shack”. This was interesting because inside there was like four street stumps like tall as me ~ LOL ~ and then a square frame set on top of the stumps then more of the frame. I don’t know how to explain it.  Architecturally sound and serves its purpose well.

Image

Another shade structure, an arbor? Shade. Oops caught somebody the same color as the sand. LOL

Image

Another large shade area, with cooking stuff. Or maybe to hold water. Imagine, you’d have to find water first and then haul it. In different parts of different reservations, people still have to haul water. But they have trucks now to do it. Still its a lot labor.

Image

Close up of the ceiling structure.

Image

Woodworms? Wormwood? Don’t know if that’s what its called but I just thought it was cool looking. Tagging by a worm.

Image

Image

These pictures were taken at the Desert Botanical Garden. You don’t think I would randomly hike the desert is search of these structures do you? LOL I would be so lost cause I  don’t know my east from my west. No mauka and no makai dats fo’shua. 🙂

Ma ke alohoa ~ until I write again, bumbye.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Shade In The Desert

  1. These photos were really interesting, and like you, I loved seeing the shadows that the structures gave. I guess in the desert you have to pretty well make your own shade. I always wonder why people settled in such hot, arid, places; too hot for me! But itʻs fun reading about where you live, so keep on posting. I appreciate it!

    Like

  2. When I lived on the rez – I asked that question: How do you decide thats where I’m going to live just out in a spot out in no where? My friends told me: Thats where they came from generationally, physically & literally. When someone is born they bury the umbilical cord on their land. I think nowadays its a choice, do you want to live where the jobs are or do you want to be off the grid yeah.

    Like

Comments are closed.