TATANKA


Buffalo.

These pictures were taken at  the Badlands National Park, South Dakota.

Buffalo butt – spotted this buffalo all by its lonesome way down in a valley. My camera has a great zoom.

Image

Another view
DSC02238

We came upon a herd while driving the Rim. They are out on the range. No fence between us and them. I was wanting to see the herd run, you know like in the movie; Dances With Wolves. LOL They had no reason to run though.

DSC02240

They look huge from afar, up close they are bigger then a smart car or mini. Then again there are people who are too. LOL

DSC02239

Bessie and the herd

DSC02242

DSC02244

When I took these pictures I did not see the bird on the buffalo’s back.

DSC02260

DSC02261

The buffalos neighbors, the prairie dogs. There’s a prairie dog town right next to the road.

DSC02259

The following pictures where taken on our way to Mt Rushmore. This in the Wind Cave National Park area. The herd was just chillin’. Some would be crossing the road and the cars letting’um cross. Would not want to run into theme at night. You know there are no lights and its pitch black & they black. Open range yeah….

DSC02324

Bessie spockem’.

DSC02322

Mama & baby, just cute.

DSC02339

Buffalo spa

DSC02330

DSC02329

I always do this without knowing – duh? Self portrait, self portrait. Ok selfie.

DSC02333

How’d you like to run into this guy in the dark?

DSC02336

Awesomely huge. To think at one point in time they were almost extinct due to the over kill by the military & white settlers. It was thought that if they killed off the buffalo they would kill off the Indians too. They almost succeeded but both the Native people and native livestock have persevered and respectfully so.

DSC02338

 

Me ke aloha ~ until I post again, bumbye.

2 thoughts on “TATANKA

  1. Please keep sharing, love the pics! I feel like I’m on a trip and I don’t even have to leave home. Thanks Lika.

    Like

    • Mahalo. Yes I have lots more to post. I kinda go nutz with the camera – love acking all paparazzi kine. LOL The day we went to the Badlands I took about 226 pics. I didn’t know that till I downloaded. I have to learn to delete. LOL

      Like

Comments are closed.