PowWow Colors


I love the colors of native regalia – powwow colors. There is every color of the rainbow and more. I admire the craftsmanship and artistry of the people who make them. So much hard work and dedicated time in doing beadwork, ribbon work, quill work, feather work or whatever its called.

There are not things you can buy at WalMart. Some one has to sew it or bead it or whatever. Its just amazing to see all the different styles and creativity.

The big red numbers you see in some of the pictures are “contest numbers”. Dancers compete in different styles of dancing.

SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 081 SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 075 . SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 326SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 098

 

I love this black, white and red. Look at the quill work – pretty. One time in Oklahoma we were looking at arts & crafts; this one vendor had a lot of crafting stuff including quills. A customer asked: “where do you get your quills from?”  The vendor replied in his long country drawl: “Frrrrommm the porcupuine.” Everybody just cracked up. ” Native humor – LOL  🙂

SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 073 SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 074

 

I can’t do beadwork to save my life. Proud of #2 for learning this craft and she has a lot of influence and guidance from her in-laws. At every pow wow there is always some outstanding beadwork. It takes a lot of time and patience to do the pieces. I think I lack patience and I can see those little boogers. LOL

These beaded regalia are heirloom pieces. Its really fine work. I think it takes years to do a whole outfit. Even my #2 was amazed at the beadwork  (bottom right side picture light blue with horses) and she goes to a pow wow practically every weekend in the summer.

SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 250 SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 405 SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 177 SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 194

 

Bustles:

SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 084 SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 190 SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 329 SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 373

 

Rock your mocs. Obviously not Minnetonka brand or anything you can find in at Wal Mart or Target.

SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 180 SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 181 SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 252SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 178

 

My grandson’s mirror board made by his Oklahoma grandpa. It is an item he carrys while he dances.

SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 026

 

AND this is my grandson! The top and the bottom LOL  🙂

SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 086 SaltRiver PowWow - Nov2014 145

I took over 400 pics over a 2 day period. I love taking pictures.  Will post more later.

Ma ke aloha, until I write again bumbye.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “PowWow Colors

Comments are closed.