Honus


I’ve always identified with honus aka turtles. Maybe cause I walk slow. 😀  Perhaps It is because  I am an Islander, all islanders respect honus. Honu is my aumakua, spirit animal. I think most ethnic cultures have a reverence for turtles

d288265eb951cc632ae757988981be99

I see these guys on my way to hula class. The first time I saw them I thought it was a sculpture. I didn’t know they were real, then I saw them move. They are really good at doing the Mannequin Challenge.

They rarely move. They just chill.

img_0891

Don’t know what I was expecting…maybe dive in the water & come back out, do some stunts. Nope, they just stay posed.

I think I was disturbing his/her peace.  Giving me that “watchulookingat” look.

img_0888

This little guy took forever to get himself out of the water. Oh maybe because he sensed stranger danger watching him. He just hung on to the edge for a long awhile. I just waited patiently and finally he got out of the water.

img_0893

img_0896

I think turles remind us to slow down and pace yourself. They reminds us/or me to not rush around so much like a chicken without a head. I like this:

4d24ad5f07bd58a3c8c03cfe8211793c

Be Blessed (\O/)

Malama pono

