Pa’u Skirt


It should of been made months ago when I first got the material. But noooooo, last-minute-me had to wait till crunch time. So I cranked it out in one day. Its not hard it just takes time. For me sewing is sometimes like s-e-x, I gotta be in the mood. Ok so I forced myself to be in the mood. Had to ‘Getteerrrdone.’

A pa’u skirt is basically a skirt used in dancing hula. It is simple sewing, much like sewing a curtain because you are sewing a casing. With a curtain you are just sewing one row to insert into the rod. With the pa’u skirt you sew six rows; in three of them you use elastic to fit to your size. Its not rocket science, just long lines of sewing.

The before and after. I actually marked the rows and so I sewed some what straight.  A lot of times I’ve just pinned it and just sew and go. I must have been feeling professional. It just takes a few hours to do this. I think the longest hardest part is putting in the elastic and adjusting it so its even .

Pa’u skirts can be done in different ways. I imagine they didn’t have elastic way way back in da day. 😀 You can use small size rope  or braided strips of material. Traditional it was made with tapa/bark cloth.  (pic from pinterest)

img_0133

My practice pa’u is just one row of gathering with strips of the same material braided and inserted in the casing and it ties on the side. The side is left open. So its just tied on the side.

Usually the first row is just the ruffle. But it doesn’t have to be, the first row can start with the elastic is you don’t want it to have the ruffled first row. Some pa’u’s have only two rows. Some have a peplum – is that what its called; you know another larger layer of ruffle. Anyways, or it can be layered with two different materials, one short & the other longer   It all depends on what style that the group or individual wants to use.

I think it’s all about the material. (pics from Pinterest)

Be Blessed (\O/)

Malama pono

 

