Binge


Not Korean drama-ing.

So my new binge of the week, month, whatever is….. making pow wow shawls. 🙂

Basically tying a shawl. It just the basic kind, I don’t know how to do designs or what not, I just know how to tie fringe on 2 yards of material. I’ve know how to do it for a long time. I only do it when I need to. Or if  given  money. LOL

The most I’ve done consecutively is 12 or 15, I forgot. There was a giveaway and that’s how many shawls were needed for  give away.

So SIL was having a give away and daughter asked if I could make one for their giveaway. Just send me fringe and yes I can.

Fourteen inch chainette fringe is not something you can find at Wal-Mart or not even JoAnn’s. You can get it from Crazy Crow Trading online, plus S&H of course. I found some on Amazon, but do I really want to spend that much. NO. So never mind.

So I made 2 shawls and SIL said, I should be doing it year round. I can do that, just send me fringe.

I am working on one now and I have 4 waiting for my fringe supplier. Basically you get 2 yards of gabardine material, hem the edges, individually add on fringe piece by piece. You have to undo the chainette fringe and sew on 2 pieces every inch or so; then you tie it in a knot. Whaluh! Pow wow shawl.

You can go to Pinterest and search pow wow shawls and see are the outstanding colorful creative Natives creations. Mines look nothing like that. LOL Mines is just one color fabric and one color fringe. That’s all I know how to do. Don’t know how to do ribbionwork or applique or fancysmancy, just generic. ❤

I learned to do this because I couldn’t afford to buy them for me and my daughters. I thought it was something hard to do till I saw someone making one and I was like “oh can do that.” So that’s how I got pow wow shawls for me and the girls. So then I went on a binge and made them for Christmas, for all the women in the family; for the aunts and cousins.  That was my first shawl binge. Back then fringe cost $3-5 a yard. Now it’s more like $8-12 a yard. I’ve seen it as high as $18. Which is nutz.  You need 2 yards or less for one adult shawl, depends how far apart you space them.

I forgot to take pictures of the ones I made, I just sent it off. Must remember to take a picture of my current binge batch. 🙂

 

Be Blessed (\O/)

Malama pono

 

 

 

